He Killed Our Janny: A Family’s Search for the Truth

“He Killed Our Janny”: A Family’s Search for the Truth by Sherrie Lueder


A chilling tale of unspeakable physical and sexual child abuse and a mother’s fatal journey with a very evil man. “The Hansens appeared to be a glamorous family blessed with success. But behind the closed doors was a story of drugs, orgies, physical and sexual assault, and constant fear.”


Please follow and like us:

Take Me to the Castle, F.C. Malby

Amazon link

‘The door opened slowly, and she could see the outline of five men standing in the corridor. Her room was far enough away from the figures for no one to notice her nose pressing into the door frame. She was aware of her own breathing and tried to slow it down, slow down her heartbeat until she was invisible. The idea in these moments is to be completely invisible. There were a lot of invisible people in Prague, doing invisible things to other invisible people.’Take Me to the Castle

What would you do to secure your own freedom?

February 1993. Walls between East and West have dissolved, following the Velvet Revolution of 1989. It is a harsh winter in the newly formed Czech Republic, but the nation celebrates. Arriving in Letovice, Jana is trying to escape a personal loss and come to terms with the changes in her country and in her own life. She stays with the Martineks and meets their son, Miloš. When he leaves Letovice and she travels back to Prague, she encounters a deep and shocking betrayal. Jana meets Lukas, a conservator working on the restoration of a mosaic at the Cathedral of St Vitus. But who is he and what is he hiding?

An evocative portrayal of life during the fall of communism: It is a sometimes heartbreaking tale of deception, distrust and the need for redemption in the aftermath of a regime in which no one can be trusted, not even someone you thought you knew.

‘Don’t miss it! A really good read – intriguing story, well written and gripping to the end. Recommended as the novel for the coming year.’
‘This book had my attention from the first page…the author has managed to bring history to life through the eyes of well-crafted characters…I thoroughly enjoyed Take me to the Castle and cannot wait for the next book!’
‘The surroundings, emotions and actions are described so perfectly that the pictures and the people created come to life in my head so effortlessly. What an experience!’
‘This is a well written novel covering a period in recent history about which very little fiction has been written. I found it intriguing and well researched…keeping you interested to the end.”An intriguing story of relationships and love set within the framework of Communist Eastern Europe. A genuine story that gives a fascinating insight into the human condition at this time.’
Please follow and like us:

The Salt-Stained Book

The Salt-Stained Book by Julia Jones

Printed Book

In 1945 two brothers die in the icy Barents Sea and a book is all that survives of them. More that sixty years later Donny sets out to discover his own identity – and the secrets of a salt-stained book. Volume One of the Strong Winds trilogy.


Please follow and like us:

Mr Briggs’ Hat

Mr Briggs’ Hat by Kate Colquhoun

Printed Book

On the night of 9 July 1864, a man was thrown from a train in North London. He had been beaten and robbed, and died soon afterwards: the first person to be murdered on the British railways. Mr Briggs’ Hat follows the investigation into the death of Thomas Briggs, and Kate Colquhoun combines meticulous research with sharp storytelling as she guides us through the mores of Victorian London. From Madame Tussaud’s Chamber of Horrors and headlines screaming foul murder to a steam-powered dash across the Atlantic in pursuit of Briggs’ killer, Mr Briggs’ Hat is not only a pacy murder-mystery, but also a meditation on the nature of truth and justice.


Please follow and like us:

The Letter of Marque


The Letter of Marque by Patrick O’Brian


Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey-Maturin tales are widely acknowledged to be the greatest series of historical novels ever written. Now, for the first time, they are available in electronic book format, so a whole new generation of readers can be swept away on the adventure of a lifetime. This is the twelfth book in the series.

Jack Aubrey is a naval officer, a post-captain of experience and capacity. When The Letter of Marque opens he has been struck off the Navy List for a crime he has not committed. With Aubrey is his friend and ship’s surgeon Stephen Maturin, who is also an unofficial British intelligence agent. Maturin has bought for Aubrey his old ship the Surprise, so that the misery of ejection from the service can be palliated by the command of what Aubrey calls a ‘private man-of-war’ – a letter of marque, a privateer. Together they sail on a voyage which, if successful, might restore Aubrey to the rank, and the raison d’etre, whose loss he so much regrets.

Around these simple, ostensibly familar elements Patrick O’Brian has written a novel of great narrative power, exploring his extraordinary world once more, in a tale full of human feeling and rarely matched in its drama.

Please follow and like us: